Home  |  Order  |  About Us  |  Laws  |  FAQ  |  Support  |  LinksTwitter - HomesteadUS Twitter    Facebook - HomesteadUS Facebook    Blog - HomesteadUS Blog
HomesteadUS - Homestead Declaration Forms You Need This Form!
Why You Need This Form By Law?

In our litigious society you can be sued by anyone for anything at anytime. But, under state statute in 46 states you can protect your home equity from Judgments, Liens, Creditors, and even Bankruptcy and Foreclosure, by recording a HOMESTEAD DECLARATION.

This is NOT the same as Homestead Exemption and every homeowner should have this inexpensive, one-page legal document recorded to fully protect their most valuable asset - THEIR HOME EQUITY!

Like insurance, you hope you never need it, but you don’t gamble with your home and be caught without it!


We have Homestead Declaration forms
available in 46 states
for couples or single homeowners.

DOWNLOAD HERE NOW!



Homestead Laws In The United States

Black’s Law Dictionary, Fifth Edition.

Please Note: States change their exemption amount from time to time and we try to stay up to date on our site, so the below information may or may not be current with your particular state. Even though 4 states have no homestead rights and others require no Homestead Declaration be recorded, most states do have Homestead Exemption statutes and we strongly recommend that every homeowner in every state have a Homestead Declaration recorded on their home to protect their rights.

Alabama: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Alabama, the homestead exemption is limited to 160 acres, and the maximum value that can be claimed is $5,000. The exemption does not apply against debts for improvements made to the real estate, mortgages, and judgments arising from the commission of a tort. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Alabama, a designation or plat of a homestead must be filed with the office of the probate judge of the county where the real estate is located. The statement must be a sworn and acknowledged statement or declaration describing the homestead. Alabama Code §6-10-2-122; 43-8-110.

Alaska: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Alaska, the homestead exemption is limited to $54,000. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Alaska, a designation or plat of a homestead does not need to be filed. Alaska Code §9.38.010.

Arizona: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Arizona, the homestead exemption is limited to $150,000 in value. The exemption does not apply against debts for purchase of the homestead or improvement of it. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. Arizona Code §33-453, 1101.

Arkansas: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Arkansas, the homestead exemption is limited to 1/4 acre in a city and 80 acres elsewhere. The exemption does not apply against taxes, debts for purchase, and improvements. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. Arkansas Code §16-66-210, 218; 18-12-403.

California: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For California, the homestead exemption is limited to $150,000 for persons 65 years of age or older, disabled, 55 years of age or older with an annual gross income of no more than $15,000, or if married and a joint annual gross income of $20,000, and the sale is involuntary; $75,000 for persons who are a member of a family unit and at least one member of the family unit whose interest in the homestead is no more than a community property interest; and $50,000 for all other persons. In any event, the monetary value of the homestead exemption for both spouses cannot exceed $75,000 or $150,000 as determined by their ages or disability status. A declaration of homestead must be written, signed, acknowledged and recorded. It must contain the name and address of the person(s) claiming it, a description of it, a statement that it is the principal dwelling of the person claiming it on the date of recording, and a statement that the declaration is known to be true by personal knowledge of the person signing and acknowledging it. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For California, a designation or plat of a homestead may be filed. California CC §1237 through 1304; CCP §704.710-.850; Family Code §770, 1100, 1102.

Colorado: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Colorado, the homestead exemption is limited to $30,000 in value. The exemption does not apply against taxes and debts for purchase of the home. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses if a claim of homestead is filed with the clerk of court in the county where the real estate is located. For Colorado, a designation or plat of a homestead may be filed. Colorado Code §38-41-201.

Connecticut: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Connecticut, the homestead exemption is limited to $75,000 in value. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. Connecticut Code §52-352.

Delaware:
Delaware has no statute regarding homestead rights.

Florida: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Florida, the homestead exemption is limited to one-half (1/2) acre in a municipality and one-hundred-sixty (160) acres outside a municipality. The exemption does not apply against taxes, purchase price, or debts for improvement. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Florida, a designation or plat of a homestead may be filed with the clerk of circuit court for the county where the real estate is located. Florida Const. Art. 10, §4(a); Code §222.01 onward.

Georgia: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Georgia, the homestead exemption is limited to $5,000 in value or the statutory homestead exemption. The exemption does not apply against taxes and debts for purchase of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Georgia, a designation or plat of a homestead may be filed. Georgia Code §44-13-1 onward.

Hawaii: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Hawaii, the homestead exemption is limited to $30,000 for a head of a family and persons 65 years of age or older and $20,000 for other persons. The limitation in size is one acre. The exemption does not apply against taxes, pre-existing debts and debts for purchase or improvement of one homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. Hawaii Code §651-92.

Idaho: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Idaho, the homestead exemption is limited to $50,000 in value and the sizes of the home and underlying land. The exemption does not apply against liens existing prior to the homestead declaration, taxes and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Idaho, a designation or plat of a homestead may be filed. Idaho Code §55-1001 through 1205.

Illinois: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Illinois, the homestead exemption is limited to $7,500 for one person and $15,000 for two or more persons living at the same homestead. The exemption does not apply against taxes and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. Illinois Code §735-5/12-901-904

Indiana: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Indiana, the homestead exemption is limited to $7,500 in value. The exemption does not apply against taxes and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. Indiana Code §34-2-28-1.

Iowa: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Iowa, the homestead exemption is limited to one-half (1/2) acre in a city or town and forty (40) acres in the country. The exemption does not apply against taxes, debts existing prior to purchase and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Iowa, a designation or plat of a homestead may be filed with the county recorder. Iowa Chapter 561.

Kansas: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Kansas, the homestead exemption is limited to one (1) acre in a city or town and one-hundred-sixty (160) acres for farming land. The exemption does not apply against taxes, debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead, and liens given by the consent of the owner and spouse. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Kansas, a designation or plat of a homestead may be filed. Kansas Code §60-2302, 2302; Const. Art. 15, §9.

Kentucky: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Kentucky, the homestead exemption is limited to $15,000 in value. The exemption does not apply against taxes, debts existing prior to acquisition of the homestead, and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Kentucky, a designation or plat of a homestead does not need to be filed. Kentucky Code §472.060 through .100.

Louisiana: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Louisiana, the homestead exemption is limited to $15,000 in value. The exemption does not apply against taxes, debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead given as security, debts to public officers of a fiduciary, or to an attorney at law for money collected or received on deposit. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Louisiana, a designation or plat of a homestead must be filed. Louisiana T.20, §1; Const. Art. 12, §9.

Maine: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Maine, the homestead exemption is limited to $12,500 in value or $25,000 if there are minor dependents living in the homestead. For persons who are sixty (60) years of age or older and for persons who are disabled and unable to work, the monetary limitation is $60,000. The exemption does not apply against taxes and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. Maine T.14, §4422-4425.

Maryland:
The exemption does not apply against taxes and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. Maryland Courts Arts. §11-504.

Massachusetts: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Massachusetts, the homestead exemption is limited to a monetary value of $50,000 to $200,000 depending upon circumstances. The exemption does not apply against taxes, debts existing prior to acquisition of the homestead, debts for the purchase of the homestead, spousal or child support, or ground rent. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. A homestead is created by a declaration of it in a deed or afterwards by written declaration which is duly recorded with the registry of deeds. Massachusetts C. 188, §1, 1A, 7; C. 236, §18.

Michigan: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Michigan, the homestead exemption is limited in value to $3,500 and in size to one (1) lot in a city and forty (40) acres in the country. The exemption does not apply against taxes or any mortgage on the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Michigan, a designation or plat of a homestead does not need to be filed. Occupancy constitutes sufficient notice of a homestead claim. Michigan CLA §557.201-203; 600.4031, 6023.

Minnesota: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Minnesota, the homestead exemption is limited to one-half (1/2) acre in a city and one-hundred-sixty (160) acres in other areas. The exemption does not apply against taxes, judgments existing prior to acquisition of the homestead, and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. Minnesota Code §1001-.04; Const. Art. I, §12.

Mississippi: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Mississippi, the homestead exemption is limited to $75,000 in value and one-hundred-sixty (160) acres in size. The exemption does not apply against taxes, mortgages, and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Mississippi, a designation or plat of a homestead must be filed. Mississippi Code §89-9-1 onward; 85-3-21 onward.

Missouri: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Missouri, the homestead exemption is limited to $8,000 in value. The exemption does not apply against debts existing prior to acquisition of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Missouri, a designation or plat of a homestead does not need to be filed. Missouri Code §513.475-.515.

Montana: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Montana, the homestead exemption is limited to $40,000 in value. The exemption does not apply against taxes, mortgages, and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Montana, a designation or plat of a homestead must be filed. Montana Code §70-32-101 onward.

Nebraska: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Nebraska, the homestead exemption is limited to $10,000 in value and two (2) lots in a city and one-hundred-sixty (160) acres in the country. The exemption does not apply against taxes, mortgages, and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Nebraska, a designation or plat of a homestead must be filed. Nebraska Code §40-101 onward.

Nevada: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Nevada, the homestead exemption is limited to $115,000 in value. The exemption does not apply against taxes, liens existing prior to acquisition of the homestead, and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Nevada, a designation or plat of a homestead does not need to be filed with the county recorder. Nevada Code §115.010 through .060; 123.230.

New Hampshire: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For New Hampshire, the homestead exemption is limited to $30,000 in value. The exemption does not apply against taxes and debts for purchase or improvements of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For New Hampshire, a designation or plat of a homestead may be filed. New Hampshire C. 480, §1-8a.

New Jersey:
In New Jersey, there are no statutes regarding a homestead exemption, except that a homestead interest is created by joint possession of real estate by a husband and wife which is used as their principal residence. New Jersey Code §3B-28-3.

New Mexico: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For New Mexico, the homestead exemption is limited to $30,000 in value per person. The exemption does not apply against taxes, garnishments, recorded liens for purchase or improvement of the homestead, and recorded liens of lessors and mortgagees. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For New Mexico, a designation or plat of a homestead does not need to be filed. New Mexico Code §42-10-9 through 13.

New York: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For New York, the homestead exemption is limited to $50,000 in value above liens and encumbrances. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. New York C.P.L.R. §5206(a).

North Carolina: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
In North Carolina, the exemption does not apply against taxes and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. North Carolina Const. Art. X, §2, 3.

North Dakota: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For North Dakota, the homestead exemption is limited to $80,000 in value. The exemption does not apply against taxes, mortgages, and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For North Dakota, a designation or plat of a homestead may be filed. North Dakota Code §47-18-01 onward.

Ohio: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Ohio, the homestead exemption is limited to $5,000 in value per person. The exemption does not apply against taxes, mortgages, security interest, or other liens. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. Ohio Code §2329.669A; 2329.661.

Oklahoma: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Oklahoma, the homestead exemption is limited to one (1) acre or $5,000 for an urban residence, and one-hundred-sixty (160) acres for a rural residence. The exemption does not apply against taxes and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. Oklahoma Code §31-1 onward; 16-4.

Oregon: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Oregon, the homestead exemption is limited to $25,000 in value for one (1) person and $33,000 for two (2) ore more persons. The exemption does not apply against taxes for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. Oregon Code §23.164, .240 through .300.

Pennsylvania:
Pennsylvania has no statutes regarding homestead exemptions or rights.

Rhode Island:
Rhode Island does not have a homestead exemption law.

South Carolina: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For South Carolina, the homestead exemption is limited to $5,000 in value per debtor. The exemption does not apply against a mortgagee of the real estate. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. South Carolina Code §15-41-10 through 36.

South Dakota: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For South Dakota, the homestead exemption is limited to $30,000 in value and one (1) acre in town and one-hundred-sixty (160) acres in the country. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For South Dakota, a designation or plat of a homestead may be filed. South Dakota Code §43-31-1 onward.

Tennessee: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Tennessee, the homestead exemption is limited to $5,000 in value for one (1) person and $7,500 in value for joint owners. The exemption does not apply against taxes, certain government fines, and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Tennessee, a designation or plat of a homestead may be filed prior to levy. Tennessee Code §26-2-301 onward.

Texas: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Texas, the homestead exemption is limited to one (1) acre for urban areas and one-hundred (100) acres for rural areas in the case of a single adult and two-hundred (200) acres in the case of a family. There is no limitation to value. The exemption does not apply against taxes, and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Texas, a designation or plat of a homestead may be filed. Texas Prop. Code §41.001 onward.

Utah: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Utah, the homestead exemption is limited in value to $8,000 for a head of a family, $2,000 for a spouse, and $500 for each dependent. The exemption does not apply against taxes, debts for purchase of the homestead, and child support debts. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Utah, a designation or plat of a homestead may be filed. Utah Code §78-23-1 onward.

Vermont: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Vermont, the homestead exemption is limited to $30,000 in value. The exemption does not apply against taxes, debts existing prior to acquisition of the homestead, and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. Vermont Code §27-101 onward.

Virginia: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Virginia, the homestead exemption is limited to $5,000 in value. The exemption does not apply against taxes and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Virginia, a designation or plat of a homestead may be filed. Virginia Code §34-4 onward.

Washington: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Washington, the homestead exemption is limited to $30,000 in value for real estate. The exemption does not apply against liens for improvement of the real estate, mortgages, and debts for alimony or child support. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. For Washington, a designation or plat of a homestead may be filed. Washington Code §6.13.010 onward.

West Virginia: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For West Virginia, the homestead exemption is limited to $5,000 in value. The exemption does not apply against taxes and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. West Virginia Code §38-9-1 onward.

Wisconsin: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Wisconsin, the homestead exemption is limited to $40,000 in value and 40 acres in size. The exemption does not apply against taxes, mortgages and liens for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. Wisconsin Code §706.02; 815.20-.21; 990.01.

Wyoming: Download Married Now     Download Single Now
For Wyoming, the homestead exemption is limited to $10,000 per person. The exemption does not apply against taxes and debts for purchase or improvement of the homestead. If a husband and wife own a homestead, the law usually requires that both of them sign a conveyance or mortgage regarding the real estate for it to be applicable or enforceable against both spouses. Wyoming Code §1-20-101 onward.

We have Homestead Declaration forms available in 46 states for couples or single homeowners.

ORDER HERE NOW!


Online Payment Processing


Copyright Statement

Pursuant to Title 17, United States Code, Homestead Declaration Services the owner of this website has filed a valid Certificate of Registration with the United States Copyright Office. A copyrighted work may not be copied, reproduced, distributed or publicly is used without the consent of the author or copyright owner. Any unauthorized use of this website or any of its contents, in whole or in part, shall be considered copyright infringement. It is illegal for anyone to violate any of the rights provided by the copyright laws to the owner of this copyright. Should you infringe this copyright, you may be liable to the owner for relief such as injunction, impounding and disposition of infringing articles, attorney's fees, actual damages and any profits resulting from the infringement, or statutory damages up to $150,000 if the infringement was committed wilfully. For information regarding the authorized use of any of the contents of this website, contact the website owner directly.
©2010 HomesteadUS.com
Site created by Roadside Tables www.RoadsideTables.com